Skip to content

Brigade-level units

The brigade-level units of the Finnish Navy are subordinate to the Commander of the Finnish Navy.

The Finnish Navy has bases in Turku, Kirkkonummi, Raseborg and Helsinki. The Navy is an independent branch that employs approximately 1400 people. Annually, about 3200 conscripts are trained.

The Navy Command Finland and four brigade-level units make up the Finnish Navy. All the naval units belong to the Coastal Fleet. Coastal units operate in the Nyland Brigade and the Coastal Brigade. The Naval Academy trains cadets, conscripts and personnel and is responsible for the Navy's research activities.